September 13, 14 and 15th 2021


The 5th THE BEST CHEF AWARDS powered by PERLAGE taking place on September 13, 14 and 15th 2021 in Amsterdam, has announced all 100 new candidates from around the world. Together with the currently ranked chefs on THE BEST CHEF TOP 100 AWARDS, this year’s TOP 100 is to be found through voting by all 200 chefs and a group of anonymous professionals from June 6th.

New candidates!

This year was full of suspense as THE BEST CHEF changed the way they presented the 100 new annual candidates selected by THE BEST CHEF’s group of independent partners composed by professionals working within the gastronomic world.

Starting on February 25th and during 100 days, THE BEST CHEF announced one candidate per day in no specific order via their social media channels.

One of the founders of THE BEST CHEF, Cristian Gadau states: “This year we have a very diverse and interesting group of chefs from all over the world. A group that brings together some seasoned heavyweights with a younger generation of talent that will for sure be making noise and bringing change to the fine dining world in years to come.

“We were looking for a group of chefs that can represent the present and future of gastronomy worldwide, and we think that these new 100 candidates, including several new great talents from the African continent, are a good testament to that. Hard working, talented, passionate, creative, socially conscious, diverse people that can lead by example and with a lot of knowledge to share.”

On June 6th, THE BEST CHEF begins the voting process, where all the chefs included on last years’ list (plus the previously mentioned group of independent professionals) and the new 100 candidates will be invited to vote for their peers to name 2021’s TOP100 best chefs. The voting for the publicly awarded Fol-LOVERS Award will begin in July and last for a month.

Amazing Amsterdam

In the capital of the Netherlands, this year’s attendees will get to share knowledge with their international peers and colleagues, and get to experience their great projects while being in one of Europe’s most exciting cities, with remarkable art, architecture, flavors and history.

THE BEST CHEF’s main goal is to promote gastronomy and talent, and Amsterdam is a city full of it. A vibrant and painteresque destination with a rich culture that year by year claims more space on the international culinary map. “We have a great community of chefs in The Netherlands, especially in Amsterdam, as well as a great relationship with them”, says Joanna Slusarczyk, one of the founders.

“This year, apart from the Big Gala, Area Talks and Food Meets Science, we’re planning a bunch of other activities to bring our amazing group of candidates, winners, invited journalists and culinary experts closer to Amsterdam and their culture. The pre-event, a gastronomic bicycle tour of the city that will take the group through different local restaurants and display the best of Dutch cuisine and the work of local chefs, and a big surprise event that will bring chefs and athletes together.”, explains Cristian Gadau.

After successful editions in Warsaw in 2017, Milan in 2018 and Barcelona in 2019, and the Virtual2020 edition that took place during what can without a doubt be named as one the worst years for the hospitality industry, this year’s slogan is: Back to “Live”. Back to Reality.

Last year didn’t stop us. We actually worked harder to adapt and provide chefs and restaurants all over the world with a platform to stay connected and share information with each other and with the public. Our big hope for this year is for our community to be able to meet in person again”, Joanna Slusarczyk ends.


Karime Lopez

Jonathan K. Berntsen

Thierry Theys

Jacob Jan Boerma & Randy Karman

Ángel León

Ernesto Iaccarino

Natsuko Shoji

Atsushi Tanaka

Dalad Kambhu

Rodrigo Oliveira

Tanja Grandits

Nino Di Costanzo

Jordan Kahn

Heidi Bjerkan

Nika Nakayama

Adam Dahlberg & Albin Wessman

Tom Kitchin

Matt Lambert

Alain Weissgerber

Juan Luis Martínez

Sven Erik Renaa

Hélène Darroze

Himanshu Saini

Yusuke Namai

Konstantin Filippou

Akrame Benallal

Rui Paula

Fredrik Berselius

Mory Sacko

Tom Brown

Ivan Ralston

Patrick Kriss

Søren Selin

Maksut Aşkar

Benjamin Nast

Sidney Schutte

Elena Reygadas

Jordi Vilà

Mingoo Kang

Juan Amador

Juanlu Fernandez

Jacob Holmström & Anton Bjuhr

Davide Oldani

ThiTid Tassanakajohn

Mark Birchall

Benoit Dewitte

Sean MacDonald

Anatoly Kazakov

John Shields

Guillaume Bracaval

Michelangelo Mammoliti

Tim Golsteijn

Pablo Rivero

Jan Sobecki

Dieuveil Malonga

Toni Kostian

Vicky Lau

Sergio Barroso

Niklas Ekstedt

Luiz Filipe Souza

Jordi Cruz

Mark Donald

Guillaume Galliot

Dave Pynt

Igor Grishechkin

Henrique Sá Pessoa

Jason Tan

Garima Arora

Hisato Hamada

Carolina Bazán Bañados

Ulrik Jepsen

Curtys Duffy

Giuseppe Iannotti

Enrique Olvera

Sebastien Lepinoy

Przemysław Klima

Jaime Pesaque

Junghyun Park

Erik & Juliën Van Loo

Supaksorn “Ice” Jongsiri

Fatmata Binta

Marco Müller

Tommy Myllymäki

Hajime Yoneda

Jason Bangerter

Nicola Fanetti

Mikael Svensson

Gert de Mangeleer

Ricardo Costa

Julia Komp

Brian Mark Hansen

Kelvin Au Yeung

Diego Guerrero

Jonathan Zandbergen

Edgar Núñez

Ebbe Vollmer

Tom Aikens

Helena Rizzo

Arnaud Lallement

Terry Giacomello




Cristaux is proud to be the official manufacturer of the The Best Chef awards. Obsessed with the art of storytelling, Cristaux designs and manufactures some of the world’s most innovative and well-crafted recognition concepts in the industry. From custom recognition awards to full-service program solutions, Cristaux helps companies drive brand growth by bringing visions to life.



Follow @thebestchefawards